News & Press: Headlines

Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation | March 22, 2018

Monday, January 8, 2018  
Posted by: Shahara Anderson-Davis


Washington, DC (January 8, 2018) – The Conference of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO) is pleased to host our 7th Annual Awards Breakfast, Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation, on Thursday, March 22, 2018 from 8:00 am - 11:00 am at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center. In observance of Women's History Month, we have inducted over 60 women into this signature class of leaders in the transportation industry. 

Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation (CWWMN) Awards Breakfast
When: Thursday, March 22, 2018; 8:00 am - 11:00 am
Where: Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center; 1300 Pennsylvania Ave NW., Washington, DC 20004
For more information:
Contact: JaLissa D. Coffee at or 202.506.6510


  • Barbara Arens, Senior Vice President - Central Region Business Manager, WSP USA
  • Heather Barry, Vice President - Strategic Partnerships, SSP America
  • Rosa Beckett, Chief Administrative Officer, Jacksonville Aviation Authority
  • Jill Chen-Stober, Manager, Service Performance & Analysis, TriMet
  • Kim Day, CEO, Denver International Airport
  • Christy HallSecretary, South Carolina Department of Transportation
  • Ryland McClendon, Assistant General Manager of Communications and External Affairs, MARTA
  • Donna McNamee, Trustee, Laketran; Chair of Transit Board Members Committee, APTA
  • Diana Mendes, Senior Vice President, HNTB
  • Michelle Pourciau, Director, Baltimore City Department of Transportation
  • Leslie Richards, Secretary, PennDOT
  • Stephanie Wiggins, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, LA Metro
  • K. Jane Williams, Deputy Administrator, Acting Administrator, Federal Transit Administration
  • Lisa Winston-Hicks, Executive Vice President & General Counsel and Chairman of the Board, MV Transportation
  • Diane Woodend Jones, Chair, WTS International, Chairman and Principal, Lea+Elliott, Inc.
"As one of the nation’s leading multi-modal transportation advocacy organization, we look forward to celebrating the women in transportation who demonstrate their leadership and are committed to the advancement of women, diversity and inclusion," said A. Bradley Mims, COMTO President & CEO. “It is a privilege to recognize such an esteemed group of nominees, and working with our review committee to ensure each candidate was carefully considered,” said Jannet Walker Ford, Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation Chair and Vice president and General Manager of Eastern Region, Americas for Cubic Transportation Systems. “When we selected this year’s honorees, we knew that once again we were honoring a group of glass ceiling-shattering women who are committed to the modernization and renewed investment in our nation’s transportation systems, and the dedicated employees they celebrate and mentor.”

We are excited to celebrate women who are leading and advancing America's transportation infrastructure and invite you to take part in this momentous affair! This again will be one of the industry's signature events of the year.


About the Conference of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO)
Founded in 1971, the Conference of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO) was created to provide a forum for minority professionals in the transportation industry. COMTO’s mission is to ensure opportunities and maximum participation in the transportation industry for minority individuals, businesses, and communities of color, through advocacy, information sharing, training, education, and professional development. The organization membership includes individuals, groups, transportation agencies, private sector corporations, non‐profit organizations, and Historically Underutilized Businesses (HUBs).