News & Press: Headlines


Friday, March 10, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Brandi Williams

Contact: Lauren Gunn at 202-506-2917 or


Washington, DC - March 10, 2017 – On Wednesday, March 15, 2017 in Washington, DC at the historic Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center, the Conference of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO) will hold its 6th annual “Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation” awards ceremony.

As one of the nation’s leading multi-modal transportation advocacy organization, COMTO holds the “Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation” awards to honor women who represent the broad cross-section of transportation in both the public and private sectors. Honorees were selected based on demonstrated leadership achievements, and their commitment to the advancement of women, diversity, and inclusion. COMTO has honored more than 60 women with this award to date.

Mrs. Juanita Jones Abernathy, COMTO’s 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award Honoree, will deliver special remarks during the ceremony. As the widow of Rev. Dr. Ralph David Abernathy, a close associate to Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr, Mrs. Abernathy was deeply involved in the civil rights movement and has spent much of her life advocating for justice around the world. Honorees will take part in a fireside chat with moderator, women’s empowerment coach, and author Pat B. Freeman. Carolyn Malachi, Grammy-nominated songstress and DC-native who has generated global excitement about American art, will provide the entertainment. “We have a program filled with phenomenal women who are transforming the transportation industry every single day,” said COMTO Interim President and CEO, A. Bradley Mims. “They continue to open doors for generations of women to come,”

“It is a privilege to recognize such an esteemed group of nominees, and working with our review committee to ensure each candidate was carefully considered,” said Jannet Walker Ford, Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation Chair and Vice president and General Manager of Eastern Region, Americas for Cubic Transportation Systems. “When we selected this year’s 11 honorees, we knew that once again we were honoring a group of glass ceiling-shattering women who are committed to the modernization and renewed investment in our nation’s transportation systems, and the dedicated employees they celebrate and mentor.”

What: Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation awards ceremony and breakfast

Where: Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave NW., Washington, DC 20004
When: Wednesday, March 15, 2017, 8:00 am – 11:00 am

  • Juanita Abernathy – Board Member, Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority
  • Margareth Bonds – Senior Vice President & Director-State Municipal Government Relations, Parsons
  • Thella Bowens – President/CEO, San Diego International Airport
  • Ginger Evans – Commissioner, Chicago Department of Aviation
  • Greer Johnson Gillis – Director, District of Columbia Department of General Services
  • Sharon Greene – Senior Vice President, HDR Inc.Veronique “Ronnie” Hakim – Interim Executive Director, Metropolitan Transit Authority-New York
  • Bertha Henry – CEO & County Administrator, Broward County
  • Loretta Kirk – Deputy General Manager-Finance & Administration, Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority
  • Anna McNeill – President, MCO Construction & Services
  • Terry Solís – Principal, The Solis Group

Members of the media are welcome to cover this event, but are required to RSVP. Please contact Lauren Gunn at 202-506-2917 or


About the Conference of Minority Transportation Officials

Founded in 1971, the Conference of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO) was created to provide a forum for minority professionals in the transportation industry. COMTO’s mission is to ensure opportunities and maximum participation in the transportation industry for minority individuals, businesses, and communities of color, through advocacy, information sharing, training, education, and professional development. The organization membership includes individuals, groups, transportation agencies, private sector corporations, non‐profit organizations, and Historically Underutilized Businesses (HUBs).