News & Press: Headlines


Tuesday, January 17, 2017   (0 Comments)



6TH Annual Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation Awards

January 12, 2017 (Washington, DC) - The Conference Of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO) is proud to announce the honorees of its 6th annual Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation Awards. 10 outstanding women, from all modes of the transportation industry, will be recognized and saluted for their contributions to the industry. Please join COMTO on March 15, 2017, for our Annual Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation (CWWMN) Breakfast Awards Ceremony. The event will be held from 8:00 am to 11:00 am at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center, 1300 Pennsylvania Avenue, Washington, DC 20004. For ticket and/or sponsorship information, visit

The 2017 Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation Honorees are:

Ms. Juanita Abernathy, Civil Rights Icon; Board Member, MARTA
Ms. Margareth Bonds, Senior Vice President & Director, State/Municipal Government Relations, Parsons
Ms. Thella Bowens, President/CEO, San Diego Regional Airport Authority
Ms. Ginger Evans, Commissioner, Chicago Department of Aviation
Ms. Sarah Feinberg, Administrator, Federal Railroad Administration
Ms. Greer Gillis, Director, District of Columbia Department of General Services
Ms. Sharon Greene, Senior Vice President, HDR, Inc.
Ms. Bertha Henry, CEO & County Administrator, Broward County
Ms. Loretta Kirk, Deputy General Manager, Finance & Administration, Greater Cleveland RTA
Ms. Anne McNeil, President, MCO Construction & Services

COMTO inaugurated its Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation awards in 2012, starting a new tradition of recognizing the accomplishments and influence of today's outstanding women in transportation. As in years past, these leaders represent a broad cross section of the industry.

Don't miss this COMTO Signature Event celebrating women in transportation who are leading and advancing America's transportation infrastructure in so many ways.
# # #


Founded in 1971 on the campus of Howard University in Washington, DC, the Conference Of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO) was created to provide a forum for senior level minority professionals in the transportation industry. The mission of COMTO is to ensure a level playing field and maximum participation in the transportation industry for minority individuals, businesses and communities of color through advocacy, information sharing, training, education and professional development. The organization membership includes individuals, groups, transportation agencies, non-profits and Historically Underutilized Businesses (HUBs).

From highways and roads to mass transit systems; from subways to rail systems; and from port authorities to airports, COMTO members represent every facet of the transportation industry. They are the presidents and chief executive officers who determine the direction of major transportation systems and the mechanics and operators who ensure the safe passage of millions of transportation riders every day.