2015 National Scholarship Winners

National Scholarship Program



The Conference of Minority transportation Officials (COMTO) offers a variety of

scholarships ranging from $2,500 to $6,000 to deserving students nationwide.

Selections are made annually by team of industry professionals and representatives 

from the academic community.

The National Scholarship Program supports the mission of COMTO by promoting,

strengthening and expanding the roles of minorities in all aspects of transportation.


This year we are proud to announce four new scholarships to be awarded! The Julie

Cunningham Legacy Scholarshipthe Julie Cunningham Legacy Scholarship for

Graduate Studentsthe Jacobs Engineering Scholarshipthe International

Association of Machinists Workers Scholarship & the International Association

of Machinists Workers President’s Scholarship.




Carmen E. Turner Scholarship

              Ashquem Nichols - University of Texas at Austin


Julie Cunningham Legacy Scholarship

              Kiante Bush - Morgan State University


Julie Cunningham Legacy Scholarship (Graduate Student)

              Eunice Escobar - Illinois Institute of Technology


Jacobs Engineering Scholarship

              Dana Tzegaegbe - University of West Georgia


North Carolina A&T Matching Scholarship

             Theodore Stevens - NC A&T


Rosa L. Parks Scholarships

             Wesley Pratt - University of Central Florida


Trailblazer Scholarship

             Amadie Collier - Breneau University


Thomas G. Neusom Scholarship

              Malcolm Jackson - Radford University


Atkins North America Leadership Scholarship

              Justin Baron - SUNY Maritime College


Atkins North America Achievement Scholarship

              Mayra Perez Calderon - University of Laverne, Ontario, CA


C2M HILL Industry Partner Scholarship

              Mara Hayes - Highland School of Technology, Gastonia, NC


LTK Engineering Scholarship

              Devonte Ferrell - Kennesaw State University

LTK Transportation Planning Scholarship

              Daniel Oldham - NC A&T


International Association of Machinists Workers Scholarship

               Mackenzie Bradford - Wake Forest University

International Association of Machinists Workers Scholarship

               Atiena Branch - University of Virginia


International Association of Machinists Workers President's Scholarship

               Chase Roberts - Hampton University


Parsons Brinckerhoff Scholarships Engineering Scholarship

               Jamary Taylor - Eastern Michigan University 

Parsons Brinckerhoff Scholarships Engineering Scholarship

               William Everett - Morehouse College


Parsons Brinckerhoff Golden Apple Scholarship

               Dezyre Akins - Boston Latin School

Parsons Brinckerhoff Scholarship - Women in Leadership Scholarship

              Deja Jackson - University of Florida (Graduate Student)