2015 Industry Awards Honorees
Please view the awards and 2015 winners below. Check back next year for the 2016 Industry Awards nomination guidelines & applications.


Best COMTO Grass Roots Activities
This award recognizes Chapter effort broadening the level of participation in COMTO grass roots activities or events. COMTO Week and Garrett A. Morgan Shadow Day activities provide chapter eligibility for this award.

Winner: COMTO Southern California

Emerging Chapter of the Year
New chapters formed between April 1, 2011 through March 31, 2013 (formed within the last three [3] years) are eligible for this award. A chapter must have demonstrated overall effectiveness as a new chapter.

Winner: COMTO Columbus 


Best Membership Recruitment/Retention Activities

This award recognizes a chapter that has successfully demonstrated excellence in recruiting and retaining members. The award criterion is based on the number of new and renewed members.

Winner: COMTO Columbus

Best Multi-Modal Recruitment Activities
This award recognizes a chapter commenced innovative recruitment activities between April 1, 2013 and March 31, 2014 to recruit new members outside the traditional public transportation industry that resulted in an increase in membership.
Modes include airports, highways, maritime, ports, rail and student transportation.


Winner: COMTO Michigan

Chapter of the Year
Chapters in existence for more than three (3) years are eligible for this award.

Winner: COMTO Philadelphia

Historically Underutilized Businesses (HUB) Firm of the Year
This award was introduced in 2003 to recognize Historically Underutilized Businesses (HUB) that have demonstrated a strong commitment to the field of transportation and extraordinary competence in a chosen transportation-related field.

Winner: Marvin Thomas


             Triunity Engineering & Management, Inc.


Thomas G. Neusom Founders Award
The Thomas G. Neusom Founders Award is the highest honor bestowed by COMTO. It is presented to a member or a group for outstanding contributions towards the growth and development of minorities within the transportation industry. The person or group receiving this award, through their involvement, has made a significant impact within the transportation community at large.

Winner: Michigan Department of Transportation (MDOT)

Gerald Anderson Sibling Award
The Gerald Anderson Sibling Award was established to recognize an individual or group that has demonstrated their commitment to the philosophy that the success of one is contingent upon the success of everyone. This award is COMTO’s way of recognizing good service and the value of teamwork within the transportation industry. This award is given as an affirmation that minorities must always be aware of the need for unity to ensure growth and development within the transportation industry. The first Gerald Anderson Sibling Award was presented to the founding members of COMTO for their perseverance and belief that there is a viable role for minorities in transportation.

Winner: Phil Washington

              General Manager

              Regional Transportation District - Denver

Reverend Jerry Moore President's Leadership Award
The "Reverend Jerry Moore Leadership Award” was established in 2011 to recognize a Chapter President who has demonstrated exemplary leadership and whose involvement has made a significant impact within COMTO by:

  • Developing and/or implementing programs or initiatives to enhance COMTO’s image within their Chapter (Criteria: educational, community outreach, etc.)
  • Increasing membership within their local chapter
  • Actively supporting the work of COMTO, both locally and nationally (Criteria: Review of national program participation as well as the local chapter activities)
  • Increasing the participation of local Chapter members in COMTO’s National Meeting.

Winner: Dan Pearsall

              DBE/SBE Sr. Project Manager

             Regional Transportation District - Denver


Executive of the Year
This award is designed to honor transportation policy makers and executives responsible for the direction and operation of their respective agency or organization. Emphasis is placed on recognizing executives who take bold steps in determining policy and initiating actions that move the organization and its people forward. This award identifies the individual and organization that best exemplifies the accomplishment of the goals and objectives of COMTO

  • Supporting the work of COMTO locally and nationally
  • Providing an aggressive hiring and promotion policy for minorities in executive managerial and supervisory positions
  • Showing a steady growth in contracting opportunities for Emerging Businesses and DBEs over the past five years
  • Demonstrating leadership within his/her community as a supporter and/or innovator in equal opportunity programs and providing greater access for minorities.

Winners: Herman Lloyd

                Senior Vice President/ Office Manager

                Johnson, Mirmiran & Thompson, Inc.

Emerging Leader Award
This award was introduced in 1998 to honor an individual who has been involved in transportation for five years or less and has demonstrated:

  • Extraordinary competence in a chosen transportation-related field
  • Outstanding leadership skills
  • A strong commitment to the field of transportation

Winner: Maxine Pryor

              Project Manager/ Compliance Officer

             Armand Resource Group, Inc.

Industry Innovation and Leadership Award

This award recognizes an individual or organization for innovative work within their organization. This award is for a person and/or organization that has made a significant contribution towards increasing productivity, safety or quality service.

Winners: Rohit Patel

                President/ CEO 

                Intelect Corporation

Inter-Modal Innovation Award
This award recognizes an organization, city or region that has developed and/or implemented ground breaking initiatives to link multiple transportation services to enhance mobility and the overall quality of life (i.e. by providing efficient passenger interchange among various transportation modes, aiding in congestion management, and yielding a seamless transition betwe
en travel modes).

Winner: Denver Regional Transportation District (RTD)

Corporate Citizen of the Year Award
This award was introduced in 1999 to recognize corporations that have consistently provided exemplary support to COMTO "above and beyond” by:

  • Contributing to COMTO
  • Contributing to society/community
  • Promoting diversity and economic development of small and emerging businesses
  • Setting benchmarks for leadership – especially during exciting and challenging times
  • Promoting transportation

Winner: Suzanne Arkle


              Zann & Associates, Inc.