Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join COMTO
2015 Industry Awards
Industry Awards


Best Grass Roots Activities
This award will recognize efforts to broaden the level of participation in COMTO grass roots activities or events. COMTO Week and Garrett A. Morgan Shadow Day activities provide chapter eligibility for this award.
Nominate a chapter for this award.

Emerging Chapter of the Year
New chapters formed between April 1, 2014 through March 1, 2015 are eligible for this award. A chapter must have demonstrated overall effectiveness as a new chapter.
Nominate a chapter for this award.

Best Membership Recruitment/Retention Activities
This award recognizes a chapter that has successfully demonstrated excellence in recruiting and retaining members. The award criterion is based on the number of new and renewed members. This award does not require the applicant to include the criteria for transportation related projects in the community since the criterion has no bearing on membership recruitment.
Nominate a chapter for this award.

Best Multi-Modal Recruitment Activities
This award recognizes a chapter commenced innovative recruitment activities between April 2013 and March 1, 2014 to recruit new members outside the traditional public transportation industry that resulted in an increase in membership.
Modes include airports, highways, maritime, ports, rail and student transportation.
Nominate a chapter for this award.

Chapter of the Year
Chapters in existence for more than two (2) years are eligible for this award. Chapter must demonstrate overall excellence and effectiveness in COMTO Activities.
Nominate a chapter for this award.

Historically Underutilized Businesses (HUB) Firm of the Year
This award was introduced in 2003 to recognize Historically Underutilized Businesses (HUB) that have demonstrated a strong commitment to the field of transportation and extraordinary competence in a chosen transportation-related field.
Nominate a HUB for this award.


Thomas G. Neusom Founders Award
The Thomas G. Neusom Founders Award is the highest honor bestowed by COMTO. It is presented to a member or a group for outstanding contributions towards the growth and development of minorities within the transportation industry. The person or group nominated for this award must demonstrate that their involvement made a significant impact within the transportation community at large.
Nominate a COMTO member for this award.

Gerald Anderson Sibling Award
The Gerald Anderson Sibling Award was established to recognize an individual or group that has demonstrated their commitment to the philosophy that the success of one is contingent upon the success of everyone. This award is COMTO’s way of recognizing good service and the value of teamwork within the transportation industry. This award is given as an affirmation that minorities must always be aware of the need for unity to ensure growth and development within the transportation industry. The first Gerald Anderson Sibling Award was presented to the founding members of COMTO for their perseverance and belief that there is a viable role for minorities in transportation. This award is given only to
COMTO members who have been in good standing for at least five years. Nominate a COMTO member for this award.

Reverend Jerry Moore President's Leadership Award
The "Reverend Jerry Moore Leadership Award” was established in 2011 to recognize a Chapter President who has demonstrated exemplary leadership and whose involvement has made a significant impact within COMTO by:
  • Developing and/or implementing programs or initiatives to enhance COMTO’s image within their Chapter (Criteria: educational, community outreach, etc.)
  • Increasing membership within their local chapter
  • Actively supporting the work of COMTO, both locally and nationally (Criteria: Review of national program participation as well as the local chapter activities)
  • Increasing the participation of local Chapter members in COMTO’s National Meeting.
Nominate a COMTO member for this award.


Executive of the Year
This award is designed to honor transportation policy makers and executives responsible for the direction and operation of their respective agency or organization. Emphasis is placed on recognizing executives who take bold steps in determining policy and initiating actions that move the organization and its people forward. This award identifies the individual and organization that best exemplifies the accomplishment of the goals and objectives of COMTO
  • Supporting the work of COMTO locally and nationally
  • Providing an aggressive hiring and promotion policy for minorities in executive managerial and supervisory positions
  • Showing a steady growth in contracting opportunities for Emerging Businesses and DBEs over the past five years
  • Demonstrating leadership within his/her community as a supporter and/or innovator in equal opportunity programs and providing greater access for minorities.
Nominate a COMTO member or non-member for this award.

Emerging Leader Award
This category was introduced in 1998 to honor an individual who has been involved in transportation for five years or less and has demonstrated:
  • Extraordinary competence in a chosen transportation-related field
  • Outstanding leadership skills
  • A strong commitment to the field of transportation

Nominate a COMTO member or non-member for this award.

Industry Innovation and Leadership Award
This award recognizes an individual or organization for innovative work within their organization. This award is for a person and/or organization that has made a significant contribution towards increasing productivity, safety or quality service. Nominate a COMTO member or non-member for this award.

Inter-Modal Innovation Award
This award recognizes an organization, city or region that has developed and/or implemented ground breaking initiatives to link multiple transportation services to enhance mobility and the overall quality of life (i.e. by providing efficient passenger interchange among various transportation modes, aiding in congestion management, and yielding a seamless transition between travel modes).
Nominate a COMTO member or non-member for this award.

Corporate Citizen of the Year Award
This award was introduced in 1999 to recognize corporations that have consistently provided exemplary support to COMTO "above and beyond” by:
  • Contributing to COMTO
  • Contributing to society/community
  • Promoting diversity and economic development of small and emerging businesses
  • Setting benchmarks for leadership – especially during exciting and challenging times
  • Promoting transportation
Nominate a COMTO member or non-member for this award.

Completed application MUST be postmarked by May 8, 2015
Mail to:  COMTO Industry Awards, 
1875 I Street, NW | Suite 500
Washington, DC 20006

Questions? Call (202) 857-8065 or
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal